Steering Committee

The Local Steering Committee for the Cowen Institute is a group of Tulane-affiliated thought leaders that provides advice and direction for the institute’s research agenda, policy efforts, and programming. The role of the Committee is to:

  • Assist in shaping the CI’s research, policy, and programming agendas
  • Serve as a conduit to faculty at Tulane, as well as other major research universities around the country
  • Operate as the Review Committee for research grant proposals
  • Assess the success of the CI through an annual review process
  • Serve as an advocate for the CI in both the internal and external communities
  • Contribute ideas, insight, and expertise to assist in the transformation of the New Orleans public education system

Paul Barron, Professor of Law – Chair
Oscar Barbarin, Hertz Endowed Chair, Department of Psychology
Marjorie Cowen, Senior Advisor to Institutional Advancement
John Elstrott, Director, Levy-Rosenblum Institute for Entrepreneurship
Charles Figley, School of Social Work
Carole Haber, Dean, School of Liberal Arts
Tori Johnson, General Counsel
Laura Levy, Associate Senior Vice President for Research
Linda McKee, Director of the Teacher Preparation and Certification Program
John McLachlan, Director, Center for Bioenvironmental Research

Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
    Sign Up For Email